Lexi’s Quilt Fabrics

We had a blessed Thanksgiving.  It was beautiful weather, so no travel problems there, and we spent time with my sisters and their families and then with my son and his girlfriend.  Bonus – meeting baby Gabriel for the first time.  For more on that, check the “Friends” part of the blog.  He could use your prayers.

I had a goal to get the fabrics for Lexi’s quilt this weekend.  Field’s Fabric in Spring Lake, MI is having a big sale and I thought I would go there tomorrow (Monday, the 26th).  BUT.  I was in Port Huron, and there is a great fabric store there called Mary Maxim’s (they also have a catalog business, perhaps you know of them?) and my husband wanted to just chill for a couple of hours, so off I went!

It took me almost the full two hours to pick these out.  Lexi, my only grandDAUGHTER, requested a black and white quilt for her wedding present, with maybe a touch of purple or teal thrown in.  THAT was the sticking point, finding just the right bit of color.  This fabric is so beautiful – the picture doesn’t do it justice, believe me.  I think it is Hoffman, hand painted.  BEAUTIFUL!  I wish I could do a quilt just out of this fabric, but it’s a bit expensive.

These are the other black and white fabrics I found.  I am not crazy about the daisy pattern.  That may get replaced when I visit Field’s tomorrow.  But the rest I really liked.  I didn’t want to go with something vintage, and there was a lot of that available.  Lexi’s only 24, and I don’t think she’s into vintage.  What she IS into is zebra (see my point?).

The colored V patterned fabric is for the binding.  I hope it works out ok.  And it’s just Kona black for the 2″ border, to frame the quilt top.  The lady who helped me, Nan, was a real treat – she had me laughing so hard! – and she approved, but just to check I sent these pictures to my friend Vicki who will do her long-arm magic on it for me.  I’m awaiting her comments…she’s so nice!

The pattern will be Take Five, which Vicki is loaning to me.  She even figured out how to make it queen size from a twin size.  She said it’s easy and quick, since you ‘stack and whack’ the fabrics.  YAY!  I need easy!  It will be after Christmas before I start this quilt, but I wanted to get the pictures posted now.

Hope you had a great Thanksgiving also!  Blessings!

Leave a comment

Filed under Quilts

Leave a Reply

