A Mission Quilt

A friend of mine is going to Africa in December/January and will honor a new mother with gifts.  I offered to make a baby quilt, and she accepted.

This is a modified version of the pattern “Play a Card” in the May/June issue of Quilty magazine.  I used some of my stash and bought some new fat quarters (along with a ton of white) and made 6×6″ finished blocks, with 2″ strips between.  Simple, quick, and still – I think – attractive.

The back will be all blue, some stash another friend gave me, with a 1930’s repro fabric in blue and white for the binding that just happened to match the blue.  Might post it finished, but for now, here’s the quilt top.

BTW – I prayed when I was sewing the back (it had to be pieced).  Wish I had thought of that while I was doing the front.  I will pray when I quilt it, and when I bind it, so that sweet little boy who I will never meet, will be covered in prayer as well as warmth and love.

Mission Baby Quilt

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

